Rehearsal Diary: Week Four

The Deep Blue Sea is the production currently in rehearsal by the Infinity Stage Company. This diary covers their rehearsal process from the first week of rehearsals to the final night. When Hester Collyer is found by her neighbours in the aftermath of a failed suicide attempt, the story of her tempestuous affair with a former RAF pilot and the breakdown of her marriage to a High Court judge begins to emerge. The following 24 hours follows Hester as she decides whether or not she can continue to live. The production runs at the University of Birmingham’s Guild of Students on the 6th, 7th and 8th of May, with ticket info available shortly. This weeks entry is completed by Scott Wilson, who plays Freddie Page.

Today was a great rehearsal, we started by creating a timeline of the development of my relationship with Hester. Doing this allowed me and Sophie to get a sense of how we met and how our relationship developed. We then tackled my first scene in the show at the start of act 1. I really enjoy this scene as I get to be quite a stupid guy who tries his best to be romantic but keeps failing miserably. I’m starting to think I may have been type cast.

Scott and Sophie

As we continue to work on the script I’m really enjoying finding new sides of my character and working with Harry to experiment with changing my approach to getting back into Hester’s good books has been so much fun and I can’t wait to continue with this show.

Later in the week, we moved on to tackling the second act which for me is the toughest act for my character but it was great to get our teeth into what I’d say is the meatiest section of the play. It really is great seeing everyone’s hard work coming together and watching the show coming to life. I’m really looking forward to continuing what has been a very interesting process so far and I know for a fact performing in this play is going to be such a great experience.

Leave a Reply

